Company History

On completion of his first James Bond novel Casino Royale in 1952, Ian Fleming took the advice of his accountant and purchased a small production company, Glidrose Productions Limited (so named for its founders, John Gliddon and Norman Rose). He assigned most of his rights in Casino Royale and the works which followed it to Glidrose, and sixty years and two changes of name later, the family-owned Ian Fleming Publications Ltd still administers Ian Fleming’s literary estate.

When Ian Fleming died in 1964, it was felt that James Bond was too popular a figure to be allowed to follow him.

So wrote Kingsley Amis in the foreword of the 1991 reissue of Colonel Sun. Colonel Sun was originally published in 1968 and is the first James Bond novel commissioned by Glidrose after Fleming’s death. Published under the name of Robert Markham, this pseudonym was later revealed as the disguise of Kingsley Amis, the distinguished novelist and author of The James Bond Dossier, which was published in 1965. It wasn’t until 1981 that the next James Bond adventure was published. Licence Renewed was written by John Gardner who went on to write thirteen further novels in the series. Having achieved his goal of writing as many Bond books as Ian Fleming, John Gardner retired, and Raymond Benson upheld the Bond mantle. Zero Minus Ten, was published in 1997, with Benson going on to write five further original Bond novels.
In 2003 Ian Fleming Publications took the literary legacy of Ian Fleming in an entirely new direction, with the commissioning of Charlie Higson to write the bestselling Young Bond novels. The novels are set in the 1930s and show how James’s early adventures shape the man he is to become. The first book SilverFin was published in March 2005 to great critical acclaim and five further stories in the series have been published since. A unique female perspective was added to the Bond story with the commissioning of The Moneypenny Diaries by Dr Kate Westbrook, the pseudonym of Samantha Weinberg. Guardian Angel, published in 2005, is the first of the Moneypenny trilogy.

To mark Ian Fleming’s centenary in 2008, Ian Fleming Publications Ltd invited the critically acclaimed novelist Sebastian Faulks to write a new James Bond novel. Continuing where Fleming’s last novel, The Man with the Golden Gun left off, Devil May Care was a wonderful tribute to Ian Fleming and the 007 legacy. It was published on 28th May 2008, on what would have been Ian Fleming’s one hundredth birthday.

In 2011 Ian Fleming Publications Ltd  published Carte Blanche written by international bestselling thriller writer Jeffery Deaver and in September 2013 William Boyd’s Bond novel Solo was released.