Steel Dagger Award

Ian Fleming Publications Ltd sponsors the Crime Writers’ Association Ian Fleming Steel Dagger; an annual award for the best thriller published in the UK. Ian Fleming said there was one essential criterion for a good thriller – that ‘one simply has to turn the page’.

Winner 2014/15: Cop Town by Karin Slaughter

The Judges’ Verdict:

“A fascinating story filled to the brim Cop Town by Karin Slaughterwith rich and evocative period detail of 1970s Atlanta.  The characters are well-drawn and instantly convincing, helping the reader to be pulled through this dark and twisted story to the very end.”

Slaughter commented: ‘Thank you so much to the CWA and the judges for honoring me with this award. I’ve read all of my fellow nominees and I want to thank them as a reader for telling such enthralling stories.’

Cop Town is published by Century in the UK and Dell in the U.S.


2014/15 Shortlist:

The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson

Cop Town by Karin Slaughter

The Night the Rich Men Burned by Malcolm Mackay

The White Van by Patrick Hoffman

Nobody Walks by Mick Herron

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Missing by Sam Hawken

Find out more about the shortlisted entries here

2015/16 Longlist

The longlist of names for the CWA 2015/16 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger will be announced in the summer of 2016.


2015/16 Judging panel:

Josephine Lane (Chair CWA Ian Fleming Steel Judges) is the Publishing Manager for Ian Fleming Publications Ltd.

Ali Karim is the Assistant Editor of Shots eZine and writes and reviews for many US Magazines and Ezines. He was awarded the 2011 David Thompson Memorial Award for Special Services to the Crime and Thriller Genre and in 2013 awarded the Don Sandstrom Lifetime achievement award for services to Crime and Mystery Fandom. Karim is also an associate member of The Crime Writers Association [CWA]; an associate member of International Thriller Writers Inc. [ITW] and a former literary judge for both best debut novel and best thriller.

Professor Heather O’Donoghue is Professor of Old Norse at the University of Oxford, and an avid reader of all kinds of crime and thriller novels. She has served several terms on the CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger judging panel, and reviews crime fiction for various journals.

Diggory Laycock is on the board of Ian Fleming Publications and The Ian Fleming Estate.  He is the great-nephew of Ian Fleming.

Iain Finlayson was born in Scotland in 1945. In 1968, he took a degree in Scots Law at Edinburgh University and worked briefly for the Home Office in London before becoming a full time journalist and writer in 1974. He is currently the books editor and non-fiction reviewer for Saga Magazine and for sixteen years was a weekly books review columnist for The Times.

Mark Lawson is a journalist, broadcaster and author. He presents BBC Radio 4’s arts magazine Front Row. He has been a freelance contributor to numerous publications since 1984 and a Guardian columnist since 1995. In the mid-90’s he presented The Late Show on BBC2 and has presented The Late Review since 1994. He has twice been voted TV critic of the Year and has won numerous awards for arts journalism.