The ninth James Bond book from John Gardner is a novelisation of the 1989 Eon Productions film of the same name, published to coincide with the release.

Bond has lost his licence to kill. After he took revenge on the CIA agent, Ed Killifer, who handed his friend over to the master criminal, Sanchez, M revoked his double-0 status and he’s considered a rogue agent.

With MI6 trying to bring him in and only the support of Q behind him Bond goes after Sanchez. Boarding his ship, Bond tricks his way into Sanchez’s inner circle and discovers the secret of his wealth. But Bond is walking a tightrope and it is surely only a matter of time before he slips …

John Gardner was a British journalist and best-selling author who published over 50 books.  He died in Hampshire in 2007.

'There was another dreadful scream. The tank’s water boiled and there were odd flashes of movement and what seemed to be light…'

007 Essentials

  • First published 1989
  • Leading Lady Lupe Lamora
  • Villain Franz Sanchez

Visit our retail partners to purchase

  • icon-amazon
  • icon-waterstones
  • ibooks_icon

Featured Products


Written by John Gardner

Publisher - Orion

Other books from the series

Sign up to
our newsletter


Join our mailing list and we'll keep you up to date with all the news on Ian Fleming's works and legacy, including exclusive events, special editions and exciting competitions.

Ian Fleming Publications Ltd emails are completely free to receive and you can unsubscribe at any time via the link in any email we send you. For information please take a look at our Privacy Notice.