The thirteenth James Bond outing written by John Gardner, published in 1993.

Illusion leads to murder as 007 pursues the wrong killer.

When Laura March, on leave from the British Security Service, is mysteriously murdered in Switzerland with a poison pellet shot from a powerful air rifle, James Bond and Swiss agent Fredericka ‘Flicka’ von Grüsse are called in to investigate. while at Laura’s funeral, Bond notices among the wreaths a perfect white rose, its petals tipped blood-red and an ambiguous note wired to the stem. His investigation reveals an identical rose and note at the funerals of four high-profile personalities, all assassinated within a week.

With no group claiming responsibility for the deaths, Bond focuses on Laura’s case as an entrée to the murderous spree. He uncovers her recently dissolved love affair with the world-famous actor David Dragonpol, now an eccentric collector of theatre memorabilia living in a castle on the Rhine. Bond and Flicka go undercover to search the castle for clues, and in the garden find roses just like the ones at each of the funerals.

Their hybrid discovery leads to a harrowing manhunt in which the startling identity of the serial killer is revealed. The action reaches its chilling and fantastic climax outside Paris, in the ultimate kingdom of illusion and magic: EuroDisney.

John Gardner uses his formidable storytelling skills to mix classic James Bond ingenuity and wit with rousing action in this 007 adventure.

John Gardner was a British journalist and best-selling author who published over 50 books.  He died in Hampshire in 2007.

'There’s something about the March girl that they’ve got no intention of telling us. Just watch your back, James…'

007 Essentials

  • First published 1993
  • Leading Lady Fredericka von Grüsse
  • Villain David Dragonpol

Never Send Flowers Audiobook

In different corners of the world four high-profile figures are assassinated in less than a week. Nobody links the deaths but one thing is certain: …

Narrated by Simon Vance

View Audio Book

Visit our retail partners to purchase

  • icon-amazon
  • icon-waterstones
  • ibooks_icon
  • downpour_icon

Featured Products

Zero Minus Ten

Written by Raymond Benson

Publisher - Ian Fleming Publications


Written by John Gardner

Publisher - Orion

Covers through the ages

Published in 1993

Publisher - Hodder & Stoughton

Published in 1993

Publisher - Coronet

Published in 1993

Publisher - Berkley

Other books from the series

Sign up to
our newsletter


Join our mailing list and we'll keep you up to date with all the news on Ian Fleming's works and legacy, including exclusive events, special editions and exciting competitions.

Ian Fleming Publications Ltd emails are completely free to receive and you can unsubscribe at any time via the link in any email we send you. For information please take a look at our Privacy Notice.