Published in 1994, this is the fourteenth John Gardner-penned James Bond novel.

A new Double-O Section has risen from the ashes of the old British Secret Service. Now, the entire organisation has been split up and the double-O Section reports to a small government committee called MicroGlobe One. Gone are the days when James Bond was answerable only to M. Gone also is the old licence to kill, for the new section’s targets are not individuals but large corporations. Gone is the automatic pistol, replaced by a pocket calculator.

But weapons are reinstated when Bond is put on the trail of the self-made billionaire, Sir Maxwell Tarn, whose business empire spans the globe, and whose activities appear to include illegal dealing in weapons on a grand global scale.

With the shrewd assistance of Flicka von Grüsse, Bond’s stunning partner introduced in Never Send Flowers, 007 follows a maze of trails from London to Spain, Israel and Germany. But they are on board Tarn’s floating laboratory off the coast of Puerto Rico when their own prey becomes their captor. There, Bond and Flicka realise their misstep has placed them squarely in the audience to a deadly experiment that will trigger an ecological disaster of global proportions.

The fate of the oceans, not to mention their own lives, lies in stopping Tarn before his cache of deadly weapons destroys much more than a few pristine islands in the Caribbean.

John Gardner was a British journalist and best-selling author who published over 50 books.  He died in Hampshire in 2007.

'Well, I certainly never take things for granted,' M Growled

007 Essentials

  • First published 1994
  • Leading Lady Fredericka von Grüsse
  • Villain Sir Maxwell Tarn

Seafire Audiobook

James Bond is back in action, with the stunning Flicka von Grusse at his side and his license to kill renewed once more. His target …

Narrated by Simon Vance

View Audio Book

Visit our retail partners to purchase

  • icon-amazon
  • icon-waterstones
  • ibooks_icon

Featured Products


Written by John Gardner

Publisher - Orion

Covers through the ages

Published in 1994

Publisher - Hodder & Stoughton


Published in 1994

Publisher - Putnam


Published in 1994

Publisher - Berkley

Other books from the series

Sign up to
our newsletter


Join our mailing list and we'll keep you up to date with all the news on Ian Fleming's works and legacy, including exclusive events, special editions and exciting competitions.

Ian Fleming Publications Ltd emails are completely free to receive and you can unsubscribe at any time via the link in any email we send you. For information please take a look at our Privacy Notice.