The eleventh James Bond novel by John Gardner, published in 1991.

Nobody could have foreseen that the abduction of an old man in New Jersey would be the prelude to a drama played out on the world’s stage.

Or that it was the first step in a plot so ingenious and skilful that the stability of nations would rock wildly to its adroit tune.

Or that around the world a name now indelibly associated with the horror of genocide – Babi Yar – would once again be headline news.

Or that soon an unlikely alliance would take place between the KGB, the Israeli Mossad, and the French and British Secret Intelligence Services.

And all because of an organisation, hitherto unknown, the Scales of Justice.

For James Bond it meant a twist that no-one could have invented in their wildest dreams before the era of glasnost and perestroika – for this new assignment James Bond would not simply work with his former arch-enemy, the KGB, he would be operating under their control!

In The Man from Barbarossa, John Gardner’s eleventh novel featuring Ian Fleming’s indestructible hero, we find James Bond as ready and able as ever in the battle for good against evil, however chilling the new realities of the 1990s.

John Gardner was a British journalist and best-selling author who published over 50 books.  He died in Hampshire in 2007.

'I’ve had a request from Moscow…Is your Russian still up to snuff, 007?'

007 Essentials

  • First published 1991
  • Leading Lady Stephanie Adoré
  • Villain General Yevgeny Yuskovich

The Man from Barbarossa Audiobook

James Bond has been partnered with an Israeli Mossad agent, Pete Natkowitz, and assigned to work with the KGB to infiltrate a terrorist group. The …

Narrated by Simon Vance

View Audio Book

Visit our retail partners to purchase

  • icon-amazon
  • icon-waterstones
  • ibooks_icon

Featured Products


Written by John Gardner

Publisher - Orion


Written by John Gardner

Publisher - Orion

Covers through the ages

Published in 1991

Publisher - Hodder & Stoughton

Published in 1991

Publisher - Putnam

Published in 1991

Publisher - Coronet

Other books from the series

Sign up to
our newsletter


Join our mailing list and we'll keep you up to date with all the news on Ian Fleming's works and legacy, including exclusive events, special editions and exciting competitions.

Ian Fleming Publications Ltd emails are completely free to receive and you can unsubscribe at any time via the link in any email we send you. For information please take a look at our Privacy Notice.