The first book in Raymond Benson’s James Bond series, published in 1997.

In ten days, Hong Kong will pass into the hands of the Chinese – and 007 is on his way there to undertake his most dangerous mission yet.

In the Australian desert, a nuclear bomb explodes. There are no survivors, and no clues about who has made it or detonated it. In England, two police officers are shot dead when they apprehend a cargo vessel in Portsmouth dock. Vast quantities of heroin are later found on board. And in Hong Kong, an explosion rips through one of the colony’s most famous floating restaurants, killing the entire Board of Directors of EurAsia Enterprises Ltd, a multi-billion dollar shipping corporation.

The People’s Republic of China is about to resume control after a century and a half of British rule – and the colony is a powder keg waiting to explode. The tension reaches breaking point when a solicitor from one of Britain’s most prestigious law firms is killed in a car bomb at Government House.

These apparently random events are connected – and Bond must find out how and why. from the heady casinos of Macau to the seedy strip clubs of Kowloon, 007’s investigations bring him into conflict with ruthless Triad gangs, a power-hungry Chinese general – and a beautiful night club hostess called Sunni Pei.

All enquiries seem to lead to EurAsia Enterprises Ltd – and its assassinated owner. James Bond is about to come up against one of the most formidable adversaries of his career.

A new era of high adventure, intrigue and danger begins for James Bond with Raymond Benson’s eagerly awaited 007 thriller – a story of sensuality and non-stop excitement.

Raymond Benson has written over 35 books and served on the Board of Directors of The Ian Fleming Foundation for sixteen years.

'Those who obey will be prosperous to the end. Those who do not will die as laid down in the oaths.'

007 Essentials

  • First published 1997
  • Leading Lady Sunni Pei
  • Villain Guy Thackeray

Zero Minus Ten Audiobook

In ten days, Hong Kong will pass into the hands of the Chinese – and 007 is on his way there to undertake his most …

Narrated by Simon Vance

View Audio Book

Visit our retail partners to purchase

  • icon-amazon
  • ibooks_icon

Featured Products


Written by John Gardner

Publisher - Orion

Covers through the ages

Published in 1997

Publisher - Hodder & Stoughton

Published in 1997

Publisher - Putnam

Published in 2002

Publisher - Hayakawa

Other books from the series

Sign up to
our newsletter


Join our mailing list and we'll keep you up to date with all the news on Ian Fleming's works and legacy, including exclusive events, special editions and exciting competitions.

Ian Fleming Publications Ltd emails are completely free to receive and you can unsubscribe at any time via the link in any email we send you. For information please take a look at our Privacy Notice.