CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Shortlist 2019 – Interview with Luke Jennings

In preparation for the announcement of the winner of the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award next month, we will interview all the shortlisted authors, one each week. This week we talk to Luke Jennings, asking him about his book No Tomorrow.

How does it feel to be on the shortlist for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger?

I’m honoured to be on the shortlist for this award, particularly as it bears the name of Ian Fleming, the writer who introduced me to thrillers.

If you could summarise No Tomorrow in ten words, what would you say?

The game intensifies, as does Eve and Villanelle’s mutual obsession.

What’s your writing process – do you jump straight in, or plan and plot first?

I plan the basic story arc and start writing.

Which thriller writers do you most admire?

Ian Fleming, Patricia Highsmith, Arthur Conan Doyle, Christianna Brand.

What makes a killer thriller?

Atmosphere, ingenuity, dark humour, moral ambiguity.

The winner of the 2019 CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger will be announced on 24th October.  The other shortlisted authors are Holly Watt, Dan Fesperman, Stephen Mach Jones, Megan Abbott and Tim Willocks.  Look out for the next instalment from the shortlisted authors next week.No Tomorrow

Photo of Luke Jennings by Stuart Clarke.


Sign up to
our newsletter


Join our mailing list and we'll keep you up to date with all the news on Ian Fleming's works and legacy, including exclusive events, special editions and exciting competitions.

Ian Fleming Publications Ltd emails are completely free to receive and you can unsubscribe at any time via the link in any email we send you. For information please take a look at our Privacy Notice.