Colonel Sun was published 2 years after Ian Fleming’s final James Bond book, Octopussy & The Living Daylights. Kingsley Amis was chosen to write the first James Bond novel after the original series, which was published under the pen name ‘Robert Markham’.

Lunch at Scott’s, a quiet game of golf, a routine social call on his chief M, convalescing in his Regency house in Berkshire – the life of secret agent James Bond has begun to fall into a pattern that threatens complacency … until the sunny afternoon when M is kidnapped and his house staff savagely murdered.

The action ricochets across the globe to a volcanic Greek island where the glacial, malign Colonel Sun Liang-tan of the People’s Liberation Army of China collaborates with an ex-Nazi atrocity expert in a world-menacing conspiracy. Bond finds himself working in alliance with the beautiful tawny-blonde agent of a rival secret service in the struggle to overpower this ruthless enemy who discards the unwritten rules of espionage.

Stripped of all professional aids, Bond faces unarmed the monstrous devices of Colonel Sun in a test that brings him to the verge of his physical endurance.

Incredibly, the author adds his own imaginative impetus to the Bond saga yet preserves all the excitement and eloquence, the pace and glitter of a vintage Fleming novel.

Sir Kingsley Amis was a British novelist, poet, critic and teacher who was ranked 13th in The Times list of the 50 greatest British writers since 1945.  He died in London in 1995.

From his slacks Sun brought out a tin of Benson & Hedges and offered them.
'No thank you.'
'Are you sure? It'll be your last smoke.'

007 Essentials

  • First published 1968
  • Leading Lady Ariadne Alexandrou
  • Villain Colonel Sun

Colonel Sun Audiobook

The life of secret agent James Bond has begun to fall into a pattern that threatens complacency… until the sunny afternoon when M is kidnapped. …

Narrated by Simon Vance

View Audio Book

Visit our retail partners to purchase

  • icon-amazon
  • icon-waterstones
  • ibooks_icon

Featured Products

Covers through the ages


Published in 1968

Publisher - Jonathan Cape


Published in 1968

Publisher - Pan


Published in 1993

Publisher - Harper

More Continuation Novels