Ian Fleming’s twelfth James Bond novel.

The tragic end to James Bond’s last mission – courtesy of Ernst Stavro Blofeld – has left 007 a broken man and of little use to the British Secret Service.

At his wit’s end, M decides that the only way to snap his best agent out of his torpor is to send him on an impossible diplomatic mission to Japan. Bond’s contact there is the formidable Japanese spymaster Tiger Tanaka, who agrees to do business with the West if Bond will assassinate one of his enemies: a mysterious Swiss botanist named Dr. Guntram Shatterhand. Shatterhand is not who he seems, however, and his impregnable fortress – known to the locals as the ‘Castle of Death’ – is a gauntlet of traps no gaijin has ever penetrated.

But through rigorous ninja training, and with some help from the beautiful and able Kissy Suzuki, Bond manages to gain access to Shatterhand’s lair. Inside lurks certain doom at the hands of 007’s bitterest foe – or a final chance to exact ultimate vengeance.

You only live twice. Once when you’re born and once when you look death in the face.

007 Essentials

  • First published 1964
  • Leading Lady Kissy Suzuki
  • Villain Ernst Stavro Blofeld

You Only Live Twice Audiobook

James Bond seems unable to function after the death of his wife. Determined to restore 007 to the effective agent he used to be, M …

Narrated by Martin Jarvis

View Audio Book

Visit our retail partners to purchase

  • icon-amazon
  • icon-waterstones
  • ibooks_icon
  • icon-audible
  • iTunes_icon
  • wholeStory_icon
  • downpour_icon

Featured Products

Covers through the ages

Published in 1964

Publisher - Jonathan Cape

Published in 1964

Publisher - The Book Club


Published in 2008

Publisher - Penguin

Other books from the series