2017 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Longlist

The longlist for the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award 2016/17 has been announced, comprised of 18 top quality thrillers by writers from across the world.

The judges have been seeking out the most original, most intelligently written, and above all most thrilling books from the 123 entries received. They have arrived at the following list:

Abbott, Megan – You Will Know Me

Axat, Frederico – Kill the Next One

Barclay, Linwood – The Twenty Three

Carol, J. S. – The Killing Game

Disher, Garry – The Heat

Furst, Alan – A Hero in France

Grant, Jules – We Go Around in the Night and are Consumed By Fire

Grimwood, Jack – Moskva

Gross, Andrew – The One Man

Hart, John – Redemption Road

Herron, Mike – Spook Street

Magson, Adrian – Dark Asset

McKinty, Adrian – Police at the Station and They Don’t Look Friendly

Ryan, William – The Constant Soldier

Serong, Jack – The Rules of Backyard Cricket

Seymour, Gerald – Jericho’s War

Slaughter, Karin – The Kept Woman

Weaver, Tim – Broken Heart

After further deliberation, the shortlist for the award will be announced in July 2017.

For more information on the Crime Writers Association Dagger Awards, click here.

To read more about the winner of last year, Don Winslow’s The Cartel, click here.

Sign up to
our newsletter


Join our mailing list and we'll keep you up to date with all the news on Ian Fleming's works and legacy, including exclusive events, special editions and exciting competitions.

Ian Fleming Publications Ltd emails are completely free to receive and you can unsubscribe at any time via the link in any email we send you. For information please take a look at our Privacy Notice.